Sonata for B-flat Clarinet and Piano


Clarinetist Benjamin Fingland and pianist Amanda Harberg

Clarinetist YaoGuang Zhai and pianist Jou-Ching Huang

Program Notes

Sonata for Clarinet and Piano has three contrasting yet closely related movements: 1. Gently, Playful, 2. Interlude, and 3. Agitato. The first movement begins with a sweetly mellifluous opening melody contrasted by a playful secondary theme, and is a nostalgic exploration of youthful innocence. The second movement serves as a bridge into another emotional space, colored by sadness and loss. The final movement transforms the material from the opening movement into an insistent dance full of dark, agitated energy.

Sonata for Clarinet and Piano was composed for clarinetist Benjamin Fingland. It sold out within an hour after its performance at Clarinetfest in 2016.

©2024 Copyright - Amanda Harberg